Join Today

ScotlandIS members are recruitment awards finalists

The finalists have been announced for the s1jobs Recruitment Awards, which will take place on 2 May in the DoubleTree by Hilton in Glasgow, and include ScotlandIS members such as McNally Recruitment for Agency of the Year, UWS’ Diane Winwood for the Shona McKenzie Shine Award, and Burness Paull who have been listed in several categories.

These awards, which are now in their 12th year, aim to recognise individuals and employers who are achieving the highest possible standards within this highly-competitive sector.

Over the last five years the recruitment industry has faced significant challenges, not least the current situation where demand for skilled and experienced candidates exceeds supply and where expectations of both employers and employees have changed significantly in a very short time.

To keep ahead of the curve, recruiters have had to pivot rapidly, using their skills and experience to attract the most outstanding talent while also focusing their attentions on the next possible changes that are coming down the line.

Against this backdrop, the s1jobs Recruitment Awards are once again throwing a spotlight on those agents and agencies that are thriving in this fast-paced market, setting new standards of professionalism and innovation and reshaping the market with their informed approach to staff recruitment.

The very best of these will be honoured during the awards ceremony, which will be hosted by comedian Matt Richardson, whose TV, stand-up and festival credits have made him one of the most sought-after stars in the business. Richardson was one of the youngest comedians on the circuit when he entered the business at the age of 18 in 2009 and today he has a string of comedy awards, sold-out shows and performances to his credit.

His role at the s1jobs Recruitment Awards will be to set the scene while the best and brightest in the recruitment sector have their achievements recognised.

This year the judges have faced their own challenges in choosing between the outstanding candidates and the short-list is the result of many hours of deliberation in order to come to an agreement over the nine categories.

These categories include Recruitment Consultancy of the Year, sponsored by MDH Recruitment; Charity Employer of the Year, sponsored by LHH; Creative Idea of the Year and Recruitment Campaign of the Year.

One individual will also be singled out for the Shona McKenzie Shine Award, which was introduced last year in order to honour the best and brightest in the industry. In its inaugural year it was won by Vivien Bryan, resourcing partner with Buzzworks, who impressed the judges with her individual approach to recruiting new staff and supporting employees.

Candidates for the honour this year include Rebecca Paterson of Aegon; Megan Avery of Syme Drummond; Kevin Staunton of Turning Point Scotland and Dianne Winwood of the University of the West of Scotland.

Other finalists on the evening include Burness Paul LLP and Kibble, who are both shortlisted in the Early Careers Employer of the Year category; BAE Systems, Morgan Hunt and SMS Plc, who are amongst those shortlisted for the Best Diversity & Inclusion Initiative and Marcus Stuart and Nicola Timmons of Anderson Knight, Craig Russell of D R Newitt, Jane Setter of Hutcheon Mearns, and Kelsie Patterson of Syme Drummond who are the contenders for the Recruitment Consultant of the Year title.

Others on the shortlist across the categories include Quarriers, The Ayrshire Hospice, Consult Energy, Hutcheon Mearns, iMultiply Resourcing, and Search.

Ewan Stark, CEO of category sponsor, Hire Intelligence commented “Hire Intelligence is really proud to be supporting the s1jobs Recruitment Awards this year. I would like to thank all the judges for all their hard work in doing a tricky job choosing from all the great entries. I would like to congratulate all the finalists and wish them the very best. Win or lose it is always a great night at the s1jobs Recruitment Awards.”

s1jobs Recruitment Awards 2024 Finalists:

Creative Idea of the Year 

  • First Bus
  • iMultiply Resourcing
  • Turning Point Scotland

Recruitment Campaign of the Year

  • Allied Vehicles Limited
  • First Bus
  • Home Instead SUR Group
  • Turning Point Scotland

Best Diversity & Inclusion Initiative

  • BAE Systems
  • Burness Paull LLP
  • Morgan Hunt
  • SMS Plc

In-House Recruitment Team of the Year sponsored by Hire Intelligence

  • Aegon
  • Barchester Healthcare
  • Burness Paull LLP
  • EY
  • Kibble
  • SMS Plc

Early Careers Employer of the Year

  • Burness Paull LLP
  • Kibble

Charity Employer of the Year sponsored by LHH

  • Kibble
  • Quarriers
  • The Ayrshire Hospice

Recruitment Consultant of the Year

  • Anderson Knight – Marcus Stewart
  • Anderson Knight – Nicola Timmons
  • D R Newitt – Craig Russell
  • Hutcheon Mearns – Jane Setter
  • Syme Drummond – Kelsie Patterson

Recruitment Agency of the Year sponsored by MDH Recruitment

  • Anderson Knight
  • Consult Energy
  • D R Newitt
  • Hutcheon Mearns
  • iMultiply Resourcing
  • McNally Recruitment Ltd
  • Search
  • Syme Drummond

Shona McKenzie Shine Award

  • Aegon – Rebecca Paterson
  • Syme Drummond – Megan Avery
  • Turning Point Scotland – Kevin Staunton
  • University of the West of Scotland – Dianne Winwood
Scroll to top