Join Today

Shortlist revealed for 10th annual ScotlandIS Digital Technology Awards 2020

ScotlandIS, the industry body and cluster management organisation championing Scotland’s digital technologies sector, has today unveiled the shortlist for its 10th annual 2020 Digital Technology Awards.

The awards reflect the strength of the sector, celebrating the wealth of innovation and talent Scotland has to offer from tech businesses both small and large. For the very first time, the ceremony will also feature an Unsung Hero Award, dedicated to celebrating community champions across Scotland. The award ceremony will be held virtually this year, with it not currently possible to bring people together physically.

Winners will be announced throughout the day at CmdR, reboot and recover with ScotSoft 2020, on 1st October, with further details to be announced in the coming days.

Jane Morrison-Ross, CEO of ScotlandIS said:

“Scotland is home to a great number of innovative, world-class and diverse technology businesses and individuals and this is reflected in the breadth of talent in this year’s shortlist. Scotland’s robust technology sector continues to strengthen its position as a vital growth engine for the economy despite the challenges Covid-19 has presented in recent months.”

Finalists will be competing across nine categories in total, including the coveted Digital Technology Business of the Year award, and the new Unsung Hero Award. Past award winners include Arnold Clark, RBS, and Skyscanner.

The judging panel included experts, champions, and influencers from across the digital technology industry. 

The 2020 finalists are:

Product Innovation

  • Cyan Forensics
  • IES
  • Sales Agility

Service Innovation

  • Sales Agility
  • Good Loop
  • Viarama CIC

Innovation through Cyber

  • Dundee & Angus College
  • Cybershell Solutions
  • 7 Elements

Innovation through Data

  • Leidos
  • Canon
  • STV

Innovation through Fintech

  • Tindeco
  • Lending Crowd
  • WhisperClaims

People Development Programme

  • Edge Testing Solutions
  • Inoapps
  • The Data Lab


  • Elaine Maddison, CEO, Brightsolid
  • Sarah Smith, Mercury Product Visionary, City Facilities Management
  • Sheryl Newman, CEO, Appetite for Business

Digital Tech Business of the Year

  • Brand Calibre
  • Whisper Claims
  • Bad Dinosaur
  • Forrit
  • Lending Crowd
  • Inoapps
  • Encompass

Unsung Hero Award

  • Monica Richardson, Forrit
  • Barry McDonald, Codebase Stirling
  • Toni MacKenzie and Clara O’Callaghan, Turing’s Testers
  • Hayden Sutherland, OTIS
  • Kelly Gardner, Codebase Stirling
  • Gregor Suttie, Sword ITS

This year’s Awards are supported by The Data Lab and Scottish Government.  Visit to find out more about the awards and how to participate in the event.

You can register for Cmd R here

Scroll to top